New national warning system Know the Signs

18 February, 2022

The ‘Know the Signs’ campaign is helping to educate the community about our nation-wide Australian Warning System.

These warnings provides point-in-time information about a hazard that is impacting or expected to impact communities.

The three national warning categories are:

  • Advice: An incident has started. There is no immediate danger. Stay up to date in case the situation changes.
  • Watch and Act: There is a heightened level of threat. Conditions are changing and you need to start taking action now to protect you and your family
  • Emergency Warning: An Emergency Warning is the highest level of warning. You may be in danger and need to take action immediately. Any delay now puts your life at risk.

From now until May 2022 there are a number online meteorology masterclasses for disaster managers.


« Return to News

Back to Top